When Free is Not Free, or Wild Goose Chase

Wow! who knew there could be so many hoops to jump through. First I went to the Oakland Free Clinic, in this really nice building….The one I mentioned in my last post. Turns out they won’t take you without an appointment. I heard her mention November. She gave me the address, of another clinic in Oakland, that does take walk-in’s. As I approached, I thought “This is more like what I would expect for a free clinic”. Dirty neighborhood. A little scary leaving my MINI unattended, even though, it was just across the street. Turns out you need an address, for that one. No proof of address, no appointment. So I made my way over to the one in Berkeley, and They do take homeless people, and you can see a Dr. same day, but you have to wait till 5:30 to make the appointment, and you then see them between 7 and 9. I really didn’t feel like finding something to do till 5:30, and then again till 7. I just wasn’t feeling up to it. Headache, earache, my phone was about to die, and I didn’t have my charger with me, so I just went back to Antioch. I figured if I could find a walk in, I’d pay whatever. Karen and I both called around. I kept getting the same phone tree, and the only choice is County Hospital ER. I hate to do it, but I guess that’s where I’m headed next. Hopefully I won’t be there all night. 😥

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Free is Not Free, or Wild Goose Chase

  1. Michael says:

    would not happen in Canada 🙂 I do hope you are ok and not there all night

Leave a Reply

